Full Council

North Norfolk District Council holds Full Council Meetings in the evenings. The meetings, held in the Cromer Council Offices are open to the public and start at 6pm. The full council is a meeting of all 48 councillors.


The Cabinet is an executive committee of senior councillors from the ruling group. Cabinet makes decisions on matters across the range of Council activities. It will usually be where preliminary debates about budget and policy matters are had, before going to Full Council. The Cabinet meets on Mondays at 10am.

Overview & Scrutiny Committee

This Committee looks in detail at the Council's efficiency, economy and effectiveness, to ensure the Council continuously improves the work it does. The Scrutiny Committee can also undertake detailed investigations into the way services are provided and managed, and how taxpayers' money is spent.

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee exists to ensure that Councillors maintain a high standard of conduct, and to arrange training to help them do so. The Committee will investigate reports of breaches of standards, and take action if necessary.

Development Committee

The Development Committee is responsible for deciding planning and listed building applications, and matters relating to tree, hedgerow and conservation. A total of 14 councillors sit on the Development Committee.

Governance, Risk and Audit Committee

The Governance Risk and Audit Committee is responsible for overseeing the council's governance structure, independently reviewing the council's financial and risk management and for ensuring internal controls are adequate for council services. Six councillors sit on the committee.

Licensing & Appeals Committee

The Licensing and Appeals Committee consists of 15 elected Members. The 15 Member main Committee is responsible for policy issues regarding licensing. The Council's Licensing Policy is based upon the Licensing Act 2003. The main Committee is sub-divided into 5 Licensing and Appeals Sub-Committees. These Committees will consider licensing applications that are controversial or where members of the public have objected to the granting of a licence.

Licensing Sub-Committees

The Licensing and Appeals Committee delegates responsibility for determining some licensing applications such as new premises licences and variations to existing premises licences to a Licensing Sub-Committee, comprising of three Licensing and Appeals Committee Members selected on a rota basis. It also delegates responsibility for taxi matters to the Licensing Sub Committee.

Planning Policy and Built Heritage Working Party

Planning Policy and Built Heritage Working Party is made up of eight councillors. It makes recommendations to Cabinet on matters of planning policy and built heritage.