From 6 April 2007 the Animal Welfare Act 2006 came into effect. It makes owners and keepers responsible for ensuring that the welfare needs of their animals are met. This includes:

  • suitable environment (place to live);
  • suitable diet;
  • to exhibit normal behaviour patterns;
  • to be housed with, or apart from, other animals (if applicable);
  • to be protected from pain, injury, suffering and disease;

The law also increases the minimum age to 16 at which a person can buy an animal and prohibits giving animals as prizes to unaccompanied children under this age. 

Last updated: 5th December 2016