Date published: 30th November 2018

Sheringham Little Theatre played host to North Norfolk District Council’s Big Society Awards last night, November 29th.

The ceremony was a celebration of the hard work local volunteers do to make north Norfolk a better place.

Since 2012, the Fund has awarded grants to more than 230 community projects and handed out more than £1.7 million.

Council Chairman Nicholas Coppack was the Master of Ceremonies for the third Big Society Awards hosted by the Council.

Cllr Coppack thanked the Sheringham Little Theatre staff for hosting the event and North Norfolk District Council officers for organising the awards.

Cllr Coppack said: “We are here to say thank you to people who volunteer for community projects and those who give their time to help build strong communities in North Norfolk.”

Cllr Sarah Butikofer, Leader of North Norfolk District Council and Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, said: “It has been a pleasure to see the range of projects which have been created and driven forward by such dedicated, selfless individuals. Congratulations to all involved.”

Cllr John Lee, Leader of the Conservative Group, said: “Being part of the group that set up the Big Society Fund makes me very proud, seeing the help that they provide to local communities gives me great pleasure, long may they continue.”

Cllr John Rest, Leader of the Independent Group, said: “There are so many people in our district who give their time for free and this is an excellent opportunity to say thank you to them. Well done to the winners, but also all the finalists and all those other people who help improve our communities across North Norfolk.”

The winners and finalists on the night by category were:

Community Project 2018, presented by Cllr Nigel Lloyd:

Cllr Nigel Lloyd presents to Wells Community Hospital Dementia Hub

  • WINNER - Wells Community Hospital (Dementia Hub)
  • Finalist - North Norfolk Community Transport (Dial a Ride)
  • Finalist - Stalham and Smallburgh Ambulance First Responders
  • Finalist - Sheringham Dementia Friendly Community

Voluntary Services to Young People Award, presented by Cllr Jenny English:

Cllr Jenny English presents to Julian-Jefferies Hickling Broad Sailing Club

  • WINNER - Julian Jefferies (Hickling Broad Sailing Club)
  • Finalist - Grant Stephen (Holt RFC)
  • Finalists - Tim and Pauline Ash (Athletics coaches)

Voluntary Services to their Community by a Young Person Award, presented by Cllr Tom FitzPatrick:

Cllr Tom FitzPatrick to Cadet Sgt Charley Webb 2534 Fakenham Squadron ATC

  • WINNER - Cadet Sgt Charley Webb (2534 (Fakenham) Squadron Air Training Cadets)
  • Finalist - James D’Amery (Holt Rugby Football Club)
  • Finalist - Jasmine Thirst (first aider for the Stalham and Smallburgh Ambulance First Responders)

Voluntary Services to a Neighbourhood Award, presented by Head of Paid Service, Steve Blatch:

Head of Paid Service Steve Blatch presents to Colin Seal Sheringham artist

  • WINNER - Colin Seal (Sheringham artist)
  • Finalist - Diana Cornell (runs multiple Stalham projects)
  • Finalist - Graham Gladden (Erpingham’s Multi Use Games Area)

 Voluntary Services to Older People Award, presented by Cllr Saul Penfold:

Cllr Saul Penfold presentation to Jane James Ludham Community Car Scheme

  • WINNER - Jane James (Ludham Community Car Scheme)
  • Finalist - Ann Fulker (Potter Heigham Good Neighbour Scheme Chair)
  • Finalist - Liz Brown (voluntary bookings secretary for Binham Memorial Hall)

Voluntary Services to Sports Award, presented by Head of Paid Service, Nick Baker:

Nick Baker presents to Pat Johnson and Geoff Paice

  • JOINT WINNERS - Geoff Paice (North Norfolk Wheelers), pictured left and Pat Johnson (North Walsham Gymnastics Club) pictured right
  • Finalists - Tim and Pauline Ash (athletics coaches)

Voluntary Services to a Big Society Project, presented by Cllr John Lee:

Cllr John Lee to Tim Thirst Stalham and Smallburgh Ambulance First Responders

  • WINNER - Tim Thirst (Stalham and Smallburgh Ambulance First Responders)
  • Finalist - Tony Clarke (North Walsham Rifle & Pistol Club)
  • Finalist - Civilian Instructor David Abrahams (2534 (Fakenham) Squadron Air Training Cadets)
  • Finalist - Dot Bradley (Trimingham Village Hall)
  • Finalist - Bob Wright (North Walsham Heritage and Information Centre)

Last updated: 30th November 2018