The majority of new development in North Norfolk will take place in the towns and larger villages, dependent on their local housing needs, their role as employment, retail and service centres and particular environmental and infrastructure constraints.

  • Cromer, Holt, Fakenham and North Walsham are defined as Principal Settlements where the majority of new commercial and residential development will take place (approximately 75% of new employment land and 50% of new homes).
  • Hoveton, Sheringham, Stalham and Wells-next-the-Sea are defined as Secondary Settlements in which a more limited amount of additional development will be accommodated (approximately 25% of employment land allocations and 20% of new homes).

The distribution of development will also have regard to the complementary roles played by the three towns of Cromer, Holt and Sheringham in the central part of North Norfolk.

The overall housing provision for North Norfolk will be distributed in accordance with the settlement hierarchy and will seek to achieve the visions for each place. The strategic policy for each settlement sets out the range of housing and employment provision and other land use considerations.

A small amount of new development will be focused on a number of designated Service Villages and Coastal Service Villages to support rural sustainability. 

Service Villages Coastal Service Villages
Aldborough Bacton
Briston & Melton Constable Blakeney
Catfield Happisburgh
Corpusty & Saxthorpe Mundesley
Horning Overstrand
Little Snoring Weybourne

Development in these Coastal Service Villages will support local coastal communities in the face of coastal erosion and flood risk. Land may be identified in or adjacent to these settlements to provide for new development or relocation from areas at risk.

The rest of North Norfolk, including all settlements not listed above, will be designated as Countryside.